TRAFFICKED: THE DIARY OF A SEX SLAVE by Sibel Hodge (a novella)

The “Back Cover”…

My name is Elena and I used to be a human being. Now I am a sex slave.
If you are reading this diary then I am either dead or I have managed to escape…
****
Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave is a gritty, gripping, and tear-jerking novella, inspired by real victims’ accounts and research into the sex trafficking underworld.
It is estimated that 800,000 people are trafficked across international borders every year – 80% of these are women and girls. (Source: U.S. Department of State, Trafficking in Persons Report: 2007)

My Thoughts…

Heart wrenching and well written, Sibel Hodge’s novella is a eye opener to a hush hush problem plaguing our world. My heart was breaking for Elena, and also for her mother and daughter. Kidnapped and then sold into the sex trade business was not the life Elena had wanted for herself but she knew she had to be strong for her mother and daughter, who had no idea this had happened to her. With the threat that these “monsters” would kill her family is she didn’t do as she was told, Elena must succumb to being raped and beaten. Dreams of her daughter seem to be the only thing getting her past each day and night.
Day by day Elena keeps hoping that this nightmare will end and she can hold her daughter in her arms again until a recently widowed client only looking for someone to hold becomes Elena’s savior and rescuer.
Although this novella is fiction, it is happening right now somewhere. Quite frankly, as the step-mother to three girls, it scares the crap out of me. What is more frightening is the fact that some of the brothel’s clients, men in ‘power’ positions, turn a blind eye to what is happening.
A wonderfully written short story that will grip your heart and make you hug your daughter’s just a little tighter.

      Purchase Information:

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes and Noble

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Book Reviews, Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for taking the time to review this! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

