DEAD RADIANCE (Valkyrie #1) by T.G. Ayer

The Back Cover

That day I knew for sure. I’d lost control of my tears then. They fell in huge, mocking drops. I stared at Joshua through those bitter tears, my heart missing beats as I tried to remember to breathe.

I finally knew what the glow meant.

I was a freak and Joshua was going to die. 

Bryn Halbrook had always seen the glow. But it is only when her best friend dies that she discovers the meaning of those beautiful golden auras — Death. Alone, lost in the foster system, she struggles to understand who she is and why she was cursed with the ability to see the soon-to-be-dead. 

The new foster kid, Aidan, isn’t helping any. Mr. Perfect seems to fit in no matter what, making her feel even more pathetic. But when his affections turn to her, Bryn finds him hard to resist. Impossible actually. A mystery himself, Aidan disappears, leaving behind a broken heart and a mysterious book that suggests Bryn might not be entirely human. 

Bryn stands at the threshold of a journey of discovery. Will destiny help her find herself, find her purpose and her place in a world in which she’d never belonged?

My Thoughts

First, how about that cover?? Beautiful!! Okay, on to my thoughts. I really don’t know much about mytholgy so I loved the fact that Dead Radiance is full of Valkyrie’s, Warriors, and Norse Gods.
It all began with an archaeology dig, a strange find, and a man with his own agenda for the DNA taken from the find.
When foster-child Bryn’s best friend dies in a car accident, while she is with him, Bryn becomes more of an outsider than she was before. While the snide remarks and dirty looks continue after the funeral, Bryn is feeling more alone than ever. Then the sexy Aiden moves into Bryn’s foster home, leaving Bryn more confused than ever. Out of nowhere, in the blink of an eye, Bryn is transported to a land that was only thought to exist in fairy tales. I found it odd how Bryn accepted the fact that she was in this new world, talking with gods, people have tales, and she is training for a long for-told fight. I would have been freaking out but Bryn just seems to accept it all in stride. One of her new jobs is to go back to earth and rescue those who have died and bring them back to train to fight in an upcoming battle that will determine the fate of the world.Her first rescue comes as a shock but also will bring a little bit of “home” back with her.
After being sent on a special mission, someone’s life hangs in the balance and it is up to Bryn to save the day.
I look forward to the next book in this series. Ayer has done a great job introducing us to this new Norse world and all of the characters.

 Purchase Information

Amazon e-book $4.99* / Prime Members – FREE* / Paperback $14.99*

Barnes and Noble Paperback $15.29*

*price at the time of this post

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Book Reviews, Home, YA and Mid-Grade Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

