THE SPIRIT KEEPER by Melissa Luznicky Garrett

The Back Cover

After her mother and grandparents die in a raging house fire, eleven-year-old Sarah Redbird ends up in the custody of her aunt and uncle. Six years later, Sarah discovers the fire may not have been an accident at all, but a deliberate act of revenge. 

Sarah’s family has kept the truth of their Native American heritage secret her entire life, refusing to acknowledge where they came from. But when a family that has direct ties to their past moves to town, Sarah’s true identity is revealed. 

What Sarah soon learns is that some secrets are better left unspoken.

My Thoughts

Melissa has once again written another amazing read! The Spirit Keeper is the perfect beginning to what promises to be a new favorite series. Her writing is descriptive and engaging, the characters are personable and colorful, the story line is exciting, different and leaves you wanting more. By the time you reach the last page, you feel like you have a few new friends.
I really enjoyed Sarah’s character. At 17, she has been living with her aunt and uncle after a fire took her mother and grandparents from her. Sarah has normal high school teenage issues, like bullies and those feelings of not being understood…and first loves. Thank goodness for her BFF Priscilla (who is one of my favorite characters). And what good would a YA novel be without the new hunky guy that moves in across the street? But what if that hunky guy next door brings with him a long kept secret about your family that your aunt and uncle have tried so hard to keep hidden?
I was completely caught up in this story from the very first page and each page that followed only sucked me in further. Book two can’t come fast enough. A big well done to Melissa on another excellent, captivating read!! The perfect YA read for teens and adults alike!

 Purchase Information

Amazon e-book – $1.99* / Prime members – FREE* / Paperback – $12.99*

Barnes and Noble Paperback – $11.69*

*price at the time of this post

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Book Reviews, Home, YA and Mid-Grade Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

