ISLAND OF LOST GIRLS by Jennifer McMahon

The Back Cover

From Publishers Weekly

At the start of McMahon’s haunting second novel (after Promise Not to Tell), recent college grad Rhonda Farr witnesses a child abduction in front of a convenience store in Pike’s Crossing, Vt. Ernestine Ernie Florucci willingly leaves her mother’s car because her six-foot-tall abductor is wearing a rabbit suit. Rhonda remembers her best friend Lizzy’s father entertaining her and Lizzy in a rabbit costume in 1993, and vanishing soon after. Three years later, Lizzy disappeared en route to high school. Guilt over her inability to stop Ernie’s abduction spurs Rhonda to join the search for the girl. She recalls the summer that Lizzy’s older brother, Peter, had them all perform Peter Pan, which was a great success, but there were dark secrets beneath the makeshift stage. McMahon expertly shifts between pivotal events in the past and present-day action, building tension to a resolution both poignant and shattering. (May) 
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

My Thoughts

Wow! This read was amazing! I was kind of surprised at some of the negative reviews because I loved every page and finished it in just a few hours.
The story starts out in 2006. Rhonda is sitting at the only gas station in her little town filling up before heading to a job interview, when someone pulls into the station in a bunny costume and takes a little girl. Yes, I said a bunny costume. Weird, I know but as the story takes you back to 1993 you will understand. I really enjoyed trying to figure out the who-dunnit and putting the clues together…only to be surprised when the real kidnapper was revealed. As the truth starts to come out, so do plenty of dark, long kept secrets.
A captivating novel that will grip your imagination and your heart. Highly recommended. And I have to say, being as I finished this 2 days before Easter, I will never look at someone in a bunny suit the same way again! Jennifer McMahon has a new fan!

 Purchase Information

Amazon e-book $9.99*

 Barnes and Noble e-book $9.99

*price at the time of this post

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on April 7, 2012, in Book Reviews, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

