Review: SPRITE (Annabelle’s Story Part One)

Sprite (Annabelle’s Story Part One) by Leigh Michael

The Goodreads Back Cover

Annabelle Walsh thought she had it all. She was the star of her swim team, had a loving family, a great boyfriend, and to top it off, she’d be starting at UCLA in the fall. One day, she’d be referred to as Dr. Annabelle Walsh. 

She was living every girl’s dream – until her life was turned upside down. All starting with finding out that she’s not just a human, but also a water spirit. Half-human, half-sprite to be exact. Although not just any sprite, Annabelle is prophesied to be the only one who can save both the sprites and mankind. 

With a mix of current events, anecdotes from Greek mythology, tidbits of folklore, and Leigh’s own imagination, we join Annabelle in her journey to restore order beneath the sea. Each step of the way her mind, body, and soul are pushed to the limit begging the question, how much can one half-human, half-sprite take?

My Thoughts

Sprite was different from anything I have read before. My attention was captured from the first page, and I knew I was going to enjoy Annabelle’s character. Annabelle has a dream…a plan for her life. She seems to have it all. Until one night she is kidnapped right out of her driveway. Life will never be the same. And now the fate of everyone is in her hands. With the help of Adrian, a member of the water world royal family, it is a race against time to avoid the trackers and find the missing shell that will save the day.

I enjoyed the under water world Michael’s has created. The descriptions were vivid and the characters likable. The story also had plenty of suspense and left me wanting more. My only issue was that it seemed Annabelle adapted a little to easily to everything going  on. One minute she is standing on her driveway, the next she is swimming  for her life and being told she is the one prophesied to save the day. While she thinks of her family often, it just seemed a little odd that she would so readily accept the fact that she is half human and half sprite..who even knew they existed! I love how different this story line is. It’s a refreshing break from werewolves and vampires. While Sprite was a quick read, there was a lot of story packed into the pages.  I look forward to reading the next book in the series and hope the wait won’t be too long! Michael’s has done a great job for her first published novel!

 Purchase Information

 Amazon $.99* / Free* for Prime members / paperback $7.99*

 Barnes and Noble $7.19* paperback

 *price at the time of this post

*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on May 20, 2012, in Book Reviews, Home, YA and Mid-Grade Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for sharing this jennifer. I love the world in Sprite and I do so love a series. Look forward to reading Annabelle’s Story. Sounds like a really good read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

