Review: GATEKEEPER and FLESH AND BLOOD (Hayle Coven Novels #6 & 7)

Gatekeeper and Flesh and Blood (Hayle Coven Novels #6 & 7) by Patti Larsen

Gatekeeper Goodreads Back Cover

Syd had been hoping grade twelve would go smoothly. But it’s not even the first day of class and she’s dreaming about some Sidhe gate and an approaching threat. Before she can enlist her mother’s help, her grandmother Ethpeal disappears, presumably gone after the Dumonts. Miriam pursues her mother, leaving Syd in charge of the coven. All fine and good, except no one trusts or believes in her. Add to that her new friend, Liam, seems somehow tied to the dreams she’s having, threats from Celeste and the fact Meira is suddenly acting like a little brat and Syd has her hands full. Maybe too full. 

Someone is knocking at the Gate and she has no way of answering.

My Thoughts

I am a HUGE fan of Patti Larsen’s writing, especially this Hayle Coven series. Each book is seriously better than the last. So, somehow I missed the announcement that Gatekeeper was out and available (I’m blaming the new changes to Facebook changes). As soon as I knew I downloaded it and every other book I was reading was put on hold. I finished Gatekeeper in less than a day’s time. Yes, it is THAT good. Patti’s writing is THAT good to keep my attention and hold me in her thrall until the very. LAST. Word.

Gatekeeper picks up where The Long Lost ended. Quaid is still living with the evil Dumonts under pretenses of being one of them with revenge on his mind. Syd’s father, Harry is still stuck as a mortal and trying his darndest to get back to Demonicon. Celeste is still being a pain in the ass (I really can’t stand her lol).  And we can’t forget Syd’s friend, the troubled, one tip to shift the balance train wreck waiting to happen Alison. Still needy as ever, but you can’t help but to feel some of her pain and want to make everything okay for her.

And then there is Twelfth Grade, graduation looming like a light at the end of the tunnel for Syd. Then Gram decides to take off with her own revenge on her mind. When Syd’s mother decides to go in search of her, along with Uncle Frank, who is still coming to terms with his own mess (which if you ask me, he should be grateful to even still be around, but that’s a story for another day…) the family magic is transferred to Syd and she suddenly finds herself in charge of the coven…and the household, as her dad has basically checked out, too wrapped up in his own self  and issues, and little sis Meira, with her new snotty attitude and new found love for makeup and hair products,  until her mother’s return. Sounds like enough is on her plate already right? HA! Yeah right. Now there is a Gate that Syd has been dreaming of, and the fate of the world and the Sidhe is at risk and time is already running out to not only find the Gate but to save the day once again. Enter new character Liam, a new favorite of mine. The last of the Gatekeepers.

Full of keep you on your toes excitement, I am never not amazed at where Patti takes the storyline. As long as she keeps churning them out, I will keep reading them!

  Purchase Information

  Amazon $5.99*

  Smashwords $5.99*

  *price at the time of this post

 Flesh and Blood Goodreads Back Cover

When Syd’s father chooses to use blood magic in an attempt to return to Demonicon, he not only seals his own fate, a death sentence, he somehow transfers all of his remaining power into the demon cat, Sassafras. Transformed by Harry’s magic, Sassafras is suddenly back to his human form. Faced with a sullen and angry teen demon who refuses to help, Syd must somehow find a way to reach the other plane before Harry’s depleted body destroys itself or he is burned at the stake for his crime.

My Thoughts

The. Best. One. Yet. Those four little words hold a lot of power to be able to describe a whole book. I was basically a blubbering mess the whole book through. For those how don’t know me personally, I’m a tough girl, it takes A LOT to make me shed some tears. Flesh and Blood did just that. Being the seventh book in this series, fans can’t help but feel like you are a part of the Hayle family.

Syd’s father, Harry, is desperate to try anything, anything at all to return him to not only Demonicon, but to make him not moral anymore. Even going as far as to use *GASP* blood magic, which is punishable by death. When his attempt goes wrong, all of his powers are sent into Sassafrass, the Hayle family cat. And low and behold, Sassy is now a teenage boy! For the first time in 150 years, he is no longer in the body of a cat! Unfortunatly, Harrys body is on the decline and time is not on Syd’s side as Syd, Sassy, and Liam (yes he makes a return in book seven so I’m hoping he is here to stay!!) research, experiment, and even travel to the demon plane to get help from Sassy’s dad just to save Harry’s life. Gram is still gone, Meira is basically keeping Harry alive by feeding him her demon power, then the nasty Dumonts decide to make their return, a long with Quaid. Syd also comes to realize just how much power she really does have and the coven starts showing some respect. You can’t help but root and cheer for Syd, considering she didn’t even want anything to do with the family magic, no less her powers!

Full of emotion, both the happy and sad kind, I would LOVE to share with you how Flesh and Blood ends…but I don’t like cheating and I feel I would be cheating readers by telling. So grab your copy then feel free to email me if you are looking for someone to discuss with! If you have never read any of the Hayle Coven novels, grab you a copy of Family Magic and be amazed at how fast you devour the rest of the series.

Actually I’ll tell you what. Just because I LOVE this series so much I will personally gift a copy of Family Magic from Smashwords to the first non-kindle e-reader owner who comments on this post, just to get someone else started in this most excellent series. Just include your name and email address. I’m only gifting ONE copy so you better be quick!  Kindle owners can borrow it for free on Amazon!! Hear that? FREE! Although I don’t know for how long so you better hurry!

  Purchase Information

  Amazon $5.99*

  Smashwords $5.99*

  *price at the time of this post

About Jennifer @Can'tPutItDown

My name is Jennifer and I have a reading problem... yes I am a book junkie. Whether I am reading on my Nook, on apps on my phone, or an actual book in hand, I always have a book with me! If I am going to post spoilers (which I don't like to do because I don't like to ruin a good book for those who have not read it) I will tell you before I get into my review. Feel free to leave me some feed back! Thank you to author Tim O'Rourke for encouraging me to start this blog! Follow me on Goodreads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/lovemynook

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Book Reviews, Home. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow those guys just know you what you want
    and the books look great and sound great

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

